RSS

Protesting the Abortion Protesters

02 Feb

I believe I have a new calling. I found my passion. Today was an adrenaline rush I have only felt once before. Getting up, getting out of the house and driving down to Planned Parenthood to protest. That’s right, I went to go protest. Protest the protesters.

The first time I did this was on my birthday last November. I happened to drive by the St. Louis Planned Parenthood and saw a sign that just pissed me off. A woman had a sign that said, “Stop Black Genocide.” WHAT? So I slammed on my brakes, put my car in reverse and parked. I needed this woman to explain to me why she believes this sign to be true. And I did just that, first I asked if I could take a picture, she said NO but I did anyway. And then I politely (I swear) asked why she believes that sign to be a true statement. This was her answer, I’m not kidding, she said, “God told me.” So my face/mouth went into that wrinkly/crinkly position of ‘I promise I’m not laughing AT you’ except I was SO laughing AT her. And my response to her was, “You know abortion is not in the Bible.” The woman turned away and started walking away from me. So all the other protesters then gathered around me, about 6-7, telling me that ‘Thou Shall Not Kill’ is in the Bible and that’s where abortion is ‘mentioned’, obviously. How could I not see that? But I’m prepared. I did go to Catholic school and have been in abortion debates before and if there’s one thing I’m ready for, it’s ‘Bible’ talk. I smiled and said, “You know the Bible also says it’s ok to stone your disobedient children to death.” One person immediately called me a liar and the others, well the others, “that’s not meant to be literal”, they said. Really? By the way, here is the Bible verse giving the go ahead to murder your kids: Deuteronomy 21:18-21

But most of us know that the crazy Evangelical Christians do what they do best, cherry pick. And they cherry pick the Bible like no other. Yesterday at Planned Parenthood everybody they cited to me miraculously found ‘God’ at some point. There was one lady who had a ‘I regret my abortion’ sign was telling me to read Abby Johnson. A former Planned Parenthood director who ‘saw the light’. And listen, I do MY own research and homework. I like to be prepared & to have the facts. And guess what, Abby Johnson’s story is all about God and prayer. Well guess what? Not everyone believes in God and more important – THE BIBLE IS NOT THE CONSTITUTION OF THE UNITES STATES. And the biggest myth is that this country was founded on Christian values. What a load of bull THAT is. Most of our Founding Fathers were Freemasons. But to the GOP & Religious zealots, facts don’t matter.

And this brings me to the most important moment of my time yesterday, there was a mother there with two children and seven months pregnant. After a discussion about rape and incest, which I’m sure is brought up in every debate on abortion, I asked her if she was willing to choose the fetus’ life over her own if her life was in danger. And without hesitation she said, “Yes.” I said, “Really. You could leave your children without a mother knowing there was an option?” And this was her answer. And I’m not making this up. She said, “My husband is a terrific father and if it comes down to it, there are wonderful adoption agencies.” Whoa. I knew she was lying, but can you tell a pregnant woman she’s a liar to her face? Well I could, because I’m a mean person, but I didn’t. I did say that if she really was in a position of having to leave her children motherless I don’t think she would be THAT decisive. And I also challenged her to actually go in Planned Parenthood and just say one thing, “I’m confused.” I wanted her to go in and see for herself that abortion is NOT the only option Planned Parenthood offers. The point here is CHOICE. I wanted her to see what really happens inside Planned Parenthood. I’ve heard over and over and over that it’s an ‘abortion factory’ and that abortions are their ‘bread and butter’ and that is so not the case. Not one person was willing to actually go inside and see for themselves. So at that point I said that your cause is lost on the fact that you are NOT factual. You have made up your own minds about this facility even though what you think to be true, isn’t.

A woman HAS to have a safe environment to terminate her pregnancy, no matter the reason. Rape, incest, or just a young woman in trouble. Not everyone believes that life begins at conception. I don’t. For the mere fact that miscarriages happen, twins sometimes morph into one another, there’s a thing called Vanishing Twin Syndrome. If life begins at conception, what happened to that life? Too many things can happen during the gestation period that scientifically prove that there is not ‘life’ in the womb.

When I was 15, I went to an anti-abortion rally in St. Louis, at Barnes-jewish hospital. I was actually on TV, not because I REALLY believed in the cause, but I wanted everyone to see my Bon Jovi bandana & t-shirt. Then I grew up and became a woman. The thought of being thought of a second-class citizen, just because I have a vagina, made me livid. If I become pregnant, no matter the circumstance, the Government is telling me what I can and can’t do with my own body? The Government is making life decisions for me just because I happen to be the one who can get pregnant? I don’t think so. I dare any of these disgusting old, white, Republican men to actually meet a rape victim. Meet a 13-year-old incest survivor and tell them to their face they HAVE to carry their rapist’s baby to term. They HAVE to carry their father’s baby to term. That is as cruel as anything. And I promise you none of these Congressmen/Senators who want to control a woman’s right to choose, DO NOT KNOW A RAPE VICTIM.

The House GOP’s Plan to Redefine Rape http://wp.me/p1b2aW-2o

Republicans’ Assault on Women http://wp.me/p1b2aW-2H

Rep. Bobby Franklin http://wp.me/p1b2aW-2N

What Country Do I Live In? What Year is This? http://wp.me/p1b2aW-58

My Vagina http://wp.me/p1b2aW-7z

 
31 Comments

Posted by on February 2, 2012 in Politics, Religion, Television

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

31 responses to “Protesting the Abortion Protesters

  1. Katrina

    February 2, 2012 at 3:15 pm

    I totally! agree with you about the Republican / Conservatives and I totally! agree this has become a country of racists & bigots & homophobes,
    You go girl!

     
  2. jsrcalifornia

    February 2, 2012 at 4:03 pm

    Excellent post. Spot-on.

     
  3. Teresa Walker

    February 2, 2012 at 6:07 pm

    I think I ♥ you!!!!

     
  4. musicalshoelaces

    February 2, 2012 at 6:16 pm

    This was SO wonderful to read! THANK YOU!

     
  5. Isi

    February 2, 2012 at 6:18 pm

    “And I promise you none of these Congressmen/Senators who want to control a woman’s right to choose, DO NOT KNOW A RAPE VICTIM.”

    Or, I’d say, given the high rate of sexual assault, “do not know that they know a rape victim.”

    Excellent post.

     
  6. Rosie

    February 2, 2012 at 6:22 pm

    Brilliant article, thank you. 🙂

     
  7. diaryofabookinprogress

    February 2, 2012 at 6:24 pm

    Aren’t the Republicans the ones howling that there is too much government/governmental intrusion in our lives and we need a smaller gov’t? Can someone please explain to me how legislating me and my uterus is LESS gov’t, less intrusive? I told my husband and a friend of his from work (also a man) that the moment one of THEM got pregnant with a baby they didn’t want/conceived under, shall we call them euphemistically “less than ideal circumstances,” THEN they could start telling me what I could and could not do with my body. Thank you very much.

     
  8. Roni Sutton

    February 2, 2012 at 6:29 pm

    Excellent, excellent read – question for you…are you the kind of blogger who prefers not to be told about grammatical errors or do you want to be told if there are errors? This is an extremely well written piece. I am going to subscribe to this and read your other stuff. I think I will enjoy them.

     
    • Kathryn Scaglione

      February 2, 2012 at 6:52 pm

      I actually did this so quickly I didn’t spell-check or proof read. Something I NEVER do. Please correct me if you can!

       
  9. bhevarri

    February 2, 2012 at 6:34 pm

     
  10. Susanbt

    February 2, 2012 at 6:40 pm

    You have inspired me. I will protest the next anti-choice protest I encounter. All of us who value our reproductive freedom and health and choices should.

    As for the men so eager to take that freedom away – don’t be so sure they don’t know a rape victim. They may be responsible for some of them.

     
  11. Rebecca Schloegl

    February 2, 2012 at 6:41 pm

    I wish I was back in the Lou with you. I would like to carry a sign that says:

    “I Have Regrets – My Abortion is NOT One of Them”

    I live in Colorado now and we have the crazy personhood people here. We have defeated it twice but they simply won’t quit.

    I am so deeply offended by people who talk out both sides of their mouths. The same “pro-lifers” are the people who want to dissemble wellfare, wic, food stamps, etc. and are pro capital punishment . Protect the fetus but the child can fend for themselves. How can they be so f’ing blind to their hypocrisy? They hate the muslim religion and the govts that are dominated and run by that religion yet cannot see that by trying to make our govt be based on “christian values” would be the same damn thing. The ignorant use religion to justify persecuting and controlling others.

    Sorry for the rant!

    YOU GO GIRL!

     
  12. Tori

    February 2, 2012 at 6:43 pm

    This is a great post! I hate seeing protesters thinking they’re holier than thou just cause they can hold a sign and say God told them to. If they want women to not abortions where are their programs that offer help? Financial,places to stay, food, support? They don’t offer that so they have no right to tell anyone what they can and can’t do with their lives and bodies.

     
  13. carrie mcguire

    February 2, 2012 at 6:44 pm

    my friend kim took a young friend of ours to a clinic recently to deal with her problem and they were confronted by the sign wavers-one got in kims face and asked her what she was going to say to the lord on judgement day and she said “i’ll tell him to get the hell out of my seat!

     
  14. Kulo

    February 2, 2012 at 7:00 pm

    Totally agree with you!

     
  15. traesy

    February 2, 2012 at 8:20 pm

    Loved your post! Thank you!

     
  16. Christy

    February 2, 2012 at 9:08 pm

    Excellent! I agree with everything except… the way ‘life’ is used by both sides in this issue. Scientifically, there is ‘life’ because you’re talking about living cells. But so is bacteria ‘life’, or a parasite, mosquito, etc. No one seems to worry about squishing that ‘life’. Yes, there is life, but I do not believe that an immature fetus is a human being. It has the potential to become one, but is not one at conception. When you get into the very last trimester things can start getting pretty fuzzy, but I would hope that if a woman was going to have an abortion that she would have it long before that late stage! And when it comes to our souls, the soul enters the body when it deems right. That may not be until AFTER the actual physical body is born! Such was the case for me (maybe I was having second thoughts about this go-round). If the fetus is aborted, the soul will find an alternate life with the circumstances it needs for its evolution. As far as spirit is concerned, it’s ‘no crime no foul’.

     
  17. Bgurl

    February 2, 2012 at 10:39 pm

    Just a few things. I know all about PP. You see they was my healthcare provider for years. But also they helped me out with a D&c when I miscarried a baby and had no insurance. I handle the protesters my the one-finger-salute. Now my niece’s fiancee almost went after one, when we took her there, for a pregnancy test, which ended up to be a baby she kept.

     
  18. Ellen

    February 3, 2012 at 7:00 am

    Girlie, you are a woman after my own heart….Keep on trucking baby! I’ll be protesting the protesters, right along with you…Thanks for having a pair, and showing them off

     
  19. Jennifer Lundstrom

    February 3, 2012 at 11:06 am

    Anytime you want to protest the protesters, I’ll go with you!! Rock on!

     
  20. Anonymous

    February 3, 2012 at 2:18 pm

    Brilliant, womon need to fight those who would assert authority over their hard won rights to ‘make up their own minds’……what womon/girls do with their issues is their business not the GOP or the Government State or Federal law……
    Womon have a right to privacy and a right to their own humanity……
    Womon are not the property of the patriarch
    Womon have a right to fight those who would assert ‘they no best’…

     
  21. ybawife

    February 3, 2012 at 2:24 pm

    Even if all planned parenthod di was ‘abortions’, what the hell is that to do with any of these misogynists.
    Why don’t they go and help the poor and create work for people instead of wageing war on innocent womon who have the ability to decide wether they want a child or not!!!!!1

    Crazy world going backwards and womon need to wake up before it is too lates and all their human rights are forced down the rubbishshoot of GOP reichwingers sewer of gynocide……

     
  22. Bunny Thomas Newhouse

    February 3, 2012 at 6:14 pm

    Thank you Kathryn for a most informative and enlightening article. I guess I’m a little behind the times. For me P.P. has been there for so MANY reasons. The idea that P.P. is just about abortion strikes me as absurd. Who came up with the ‘only abortion’ idea. I certainly hope this and all of your articles reach the “deaf” ears of the American people and they will be able to hear and understand. Thanks again

     
  23. Weylinton

    February 6, 2012 at 2:01 am

    they say be afraid
    you’re not like the other
    futuristic lovers
    different DNA…

    they callin’ me an alien
    a big-headed astronaut
    maybe it’s because
    your boy easy get ass a lot

    – Katy Perry ft. Kanye West

     
  24. mommapolitico

    February 13, 2012 at 9:31 pm

    Way to go, Kid. I couldn’t have said it better myself! Brava, Kathryn, Brava! From one Catholic school survivor to another, well-played.

     
  25. Falon

    February 23, 2012 at 11:49 pm

    Hi Kathrine…its me again…I’m not here to argue with you, I actually agree with some of the things you’ve written in your blog. You are a great writer the only thing I want to ask you is, have you ever read the Mayflower Compact? It was the first Governing Document signed November 11, 1620 and the first few sentences read…

    ” In the name of God, Amen. We, whose names are underwritten, the loyal subjects of our dread Sovereign Lord King James, by the Grace of God, of Great Britain, France, and Ireland, King, defender of the Faith, etc.
    Having undertaken, for the Glory of God, and advancements of the Christian faith and honor of our King and Country, a voyage to plant the first colony in the Northern parts of Virginia, do by these presents, solemnly and mutually, in the presence of God, and one another, covenant and combine ourselves together into a civil body politic…” This colony came to America to Practice their Christianity 169 years before our Nations first president. Who by the way acknowledged God…
    ” it would be peculiarly improper to omit in this first official Act, my fervent supplications to that Almighty Being who rules over the Universe, who presides in the Councils of Nations…” That was said by George Washington in his first inaugural address. You can believe what you will with it. But if you read quotes from Samual Adams, James Madison, James Monroe, John Q Adams, William Penn, Roger Sherman…you will find God in all of their speeches..Our country was based on Christian if not Godly values. Its hard to believe it these days though because we have driven God out of everything. I’m not sure if it was this blog or another that I read, but I did call you a bold faced liar…I didn’t do my homework in Deuteronomy. It does say to stone your child if he doesn’t obey. I do want to remind you which I am sure you are aware that Deuteronomy is in the Old Testament…the Old Law..Jesus brought forth the New Law. But I can see how that would upset you and others knowing that these days it is immoral to do that. Christians have brought forth themselves a bad reputation…I am one of them, trying to be more Godly and less Religous which sometimes proves to be somewhat hard at times. Anyways, I don’t even know if you recognize my name or even remember me, but I just thought I would put my two sense (correct usage?) I don’t know..ha ha. Anyways good blog and I can see where you are coming from. I hope all is well.

     
    • Kathryn Scaglione

      February 24, 2012 at 12:21 am

      Fallon. You tend to believe everything you read that you happen to agree with. Is that assessment wrong?

       
      • Falon

        February 24, 2012 at 1:35 am

        I read both sides, I just choose to comment on the things I strongly believe in…but don’t you do the same thing?
        You have a very strong opinion which I think is great. I am coming to realize that different people from different backgrounds,.religions etc….including myself make it all about their beliefs, when in fact as a Christian I need to base my life around God and not the words from everyone else.
        I just felt compelled to say something. 🙂

         
      • Falon

        February 24, 2012 at 10:47 am

        Also Kathryn, I recieved an email today from a family member…do you that the words ”LAUS DEO” are inscribed at the top of the Washington Monument. I would urge you to look it up to see what it means.

         
  26. Enraged

    March 7, 2013 at 12:02 pm

    I stopped at Boyle & Forest Park yesterday, and the rage hit me. I parked and got out and told the smug old harrassers off for nearly an hour. One man body checked me with his sign 3 times and threatened me withhis veteran military martial prowess. I called the police. Apparently, they agreed with me without officially saying so but said in the future to come out with a sign, as exercising my free speech in public protest can be construed as “disturbing the peace.”

    Today I found your blog after a few google searches to see if anyone else has had similar experiences. If you ever do this again and I have the free time, let me know.

     
  27. New2StLou

    November 5, 2013 at 2:13 pm

    I just saw these twunts out there today on my way to and from a job interview. If anyone organizes a counter protest, I WILL be there.

     

Leave a Reply

 
